An eminent panel of judges has been assembled to consider and vote on submissions. The panel will assess each submission against the criteria of: feasibility, innovativeness, persuasiveness, and its capacity to be globally translatable.

Professor Karina Aase Professor of Patient Safety, University of Stavanger, Norway

Professor Karina Aase, PhD is head of research within Quality and Safety in Healthcare Systems, Department of Health Studies, University of Stavanger, Norway. She is professor in safety and has a background in safety science within petroleum and aviation. Over the last 10 years Aase has built an influential research group on quality and patient safety in the Norwegian setting with more than 20 researchers affiliated. The multi-professional research group conducts research within the areas of patient-centered care, transitional care, systems safety and resilience, organizational and cultural factors, the use of technology, interprofessional practice and education, and simulation and training.

Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite Founding Director, AIHI, Macquarie University (Chair of Panel)

Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite, BA, MIR (Hons), MBA, DipLR, PhD, FAIM, FCHSM, FFPHRCP (UK) is Foundation Director, Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Director, Centre for Healthcare Resilience and Implementation Science, and Chair of Health Systems Research, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Macquarie University, Australia.  His research examines the changing nature of health systems, particularly patient safety, standards and accreditation, leadership and management, the structure and culture of organisations and their network characteristics, attracting funding of more than AUD$59 million (EUR€40 million, GBP£33 million).

Professor Patrick McNeil Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Macquarie University – Managing Director, Macquarie University Clinical Associates

Patrick McNeil is Macquarie University’s inaugural Executive Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences where he leads the Faculty’s tripartite and integrated missions of academic clinical practice, education and research. He is also the Managing Director of Macquarie University Clinical Associates, which provides professional clinical services to Macquarie University Hospital, which together with the Faculty forms Macquarie University Health Sciences Centre, Australia’s first fully integrated academic health sciences enterprise under a university’s leadership. Patrick’s vision for the Health Sciences Centre is the provision of cutting edge clinical care, placing the patient at its focus of its operations with a strong emphasis on quality and safety. The Centre will value its staff, create a learning workplace, and foster a culture of collaboration and inter-disciplinary care. Over time, Patrick sees the Macquarie University Health Sciences Centre as being the institution of choice for clinicians and researchers at the top of their fields.

Professor Sir Liam Donaldson Professor of Health Policy, Imperial College, London

Professor Sir Liam Donaldson is recognised as an international champion of patient safety and public health. He was the foundation chair of the World Health Organisation World Alliance for Patient Safety, launched in 2004. He is a past vice-chairman of the World Health Organisation Executive Board. He is now the World Health Organisation’s Envoy for Patient Safety and Chairman of the Independent Monitoring for the Polio Eradication Programme. In the UK, he is currently Chair of Health Policy at Imperial College London and Chancellor of Newcastle University.

Professor Erik Hollnagel Professor, the University of Southern Denmark, Chief Consultant, Centre for Quality Improvement, Region of Southern Denmark

Erik Hollnagel is presently Professor at the University of Southern Denmark and Chief Consultant at the Centre for Quality Improvement, Region of Southern Denmark. He is also Visiting Professorial Fellow, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences at Macquarie University (Australia), Visiting Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Study of the Technische Universitat München (Germany), and Professor Emeritus at the Department of Computer and Information Science (IDA) at Linköping University (LIU), Sweden.